10 Things We Learned From WWE Royal Rumble 1993

Yokozuna wins, Bret Hart vs. Razor Ramon for the WWF Championship…

3. Model Of Consistency


So much had changed in WWE since the first Royal Rumble match in 1988, as the two shows felt at points like they came from two entirely different eras, and there may as well have been an eternity between the two events. There were few holdovers from that 1988 Rumble still kicking in WWE by this point, and one of them was a true Rumble veteran.

Tito Santana can lay claim to being the only man to have wrestled in each of the first six Royal Rumble matches, taking part in his final one in 1993. Across those six Rumble matches, Santana would last a cumulative one hour, 13 minutes, and 56 seconds. He would only make a total of two eliminations, one of which was he and Shawn Michaels eliminating each other in 1992.

2. Raising The Bar


It probably came as a surprise to most viewers when 43-year-old Bob Backlund, the match’s number two draw, survived all the way into the final three, before being deposited to the floor by eventual winner Yokozuna. With his performance, Backlund broke Ric Flair’s all-time longevity mark set the prior year, at one hour, one minute, and 10 seconds.

It marked the sixth consecutive year that a new duration high mark would be set in the Rumble, though it would take until Chris Benoit in 2004 for Backlund’s record to be broken. Bret Hart posted the initial record in 1988 with 25:42, followed by Mr. Perfect in 1989 (27:58), Ted DiBiase in 1990 (44:47), Rick Martel in 1991 (52:17), and Flair in 1992 (1:00:02).

1. Mass Exodus


Just to bring this list circle, let’s go back to what was said about WWE being in a rather in flux state at this point in time. If you thought the game changed going from 1992 to 1993, check out how much things changed by the end of 1993. Ric Flair may have been on his way out of WWE, but he was far from the only one.

In all, 18 of the 30 Rumble match entrants would exit the company before the end of 1993, a whopping 60 per cent. They include Flair, Papa Shango, Ted Dibiase, The Nasty Boys, The Natural Disasters, Max Moon, Genichiro Tenryu, Carlos Colon (the latter duo both guests), Mr. Perfect, Skinner, Koko B. Ware, The Berzerker, Terry Taylor, Damien Demento, Tito Santana, and Repo Man. When your roster changes that much in one year, chances are you’re not living in banner times.

Justin Henry

Written by Justin Henry

In addition to writing lists and commentaries for Cultaholic, Justin is also a features writer and interviewer for Fighting Spirit Magazine, and is co-author of the WWE-related book Titan Screwed: Lost Smiles, Stunners, and Screwjobs.

WWE Announces First-Ever Worlds Collide Tournament Involving NXT, 205 Live & NXT UK Superstars

WWE Announce New UK Performance Centre