AEW Announces Number One Contender's Tournament

The finals will take place at Full Gear...

All Elite Wrestling announced during last night's edition of Dynamite that an eight-man single-elimination tournament will be held in the coming weeks to crown a new number one contender for the AEW World Championship. 

Excalibur confirmed the first three participants will be Rey Fenix, Jungle Boy and Kenny Omega. "Hangman" Adam Page, who was at the commentary table, almost spat his drink out upon hearing Omega's name and promptly headed backstage. 

When the tournament will begin is unknown but the finals will be held at AEW's next pay-per-view Full Gear on November 7. 

This will be AEW's fourth tournament since the promotion's inception. A tourney was first held in October 2019 to crown the inaugural AEW World Tag Team Champions. This was followed by the TNT Championship Tournament which culminated at Double Or Nothing 2020 and the AEW Women's Tag Team Cup Tournament: The Deadly Draw. 

Who the tournament winner will face for the title remains to be seen. Jon Moxley is scheduled to defend the world championship against Lance Archer on the AEW: Dynamite Anniversary Show and The Murderhawk Monster is determined to put gold around his waist. 

Share this post

WWE NXT's Tegan Nox Suffers Torn ACL

IMPACT Wrestling Victory Road 2020 Card Finalised

Aidan Gibbons

Written by Aidan Gibbons

Journalist/Editor-in-Chief of Twitter: @theaidangibbons