Inaugural NJPW STRONG Openweight Tag Team Champions Crowned

New champions on NJPW STRONG

The inaugural NJPW STRONG Openweight Tag Team Champions were crowned on this past weekend's episode of NJPW STRONG.

After a long tournament, the final came down to United Empire's Aussie Open and the team of Christopher Daniels and Yuya Uemura. Both teams fought back and forth and Uemura came close to earning the win for his team following a Frankensteiner to Mark Davis but Kyle Fletcher broke up the pin. Aussie Open then decked Uemura with Corealis to score the victory.

The match was taped back on Sunday, July 24, as part of the High Alert taping in Charlotte, North Carolina. 

Other matches on the episode of STRONG included Big Damo vs. Hikuleo, and Shane Haste vs. Jorel Nelson.

NJPW will hold their next set of STRONG tapings on August 21 from the Vermont Hollywood in Los Angeles, California. Matches booked for the show include Alan Angels vs. Taiji Ishimori, QT Marshall vs. Keita Murray, and an eight-man tag team match pitting Jay White, Chase Owens, Hikuleo, and Juice Robinson against KUSHIDA, Rocky Romero, Beretta, and Taylor Rust. 

Share this post

Former WWE Star Open To Return

Goldberg Reveals Brock Lesnar Pitched To Lose In 90 Seconds At WWE Survivor Series

Aidan Gibbons

Written by Aidan Gibbons

Editor-in-Chief of Cultaholic.com Twitter: @theaidangibbons