Io Shirai & Kay Lee Ray Win Women's Dusty Rhodes Tag Team Classic

Io Shirai and Kay Lee Ray win the second-annual tournament

The final of the Women's Dusty Rhodes Tag Team Classic headlined Tuesday's edition of NXT from the WWE Performance Center as Kay Lee Ray and Io Shirai faced Dakota Kai and Wendy Choo. 

Both teams fought back and forth for 10 minutes in the main event match and it was KLR and Shirai who won the final after The Genius Of The Sky hit Wendy Choo hit a Moonsault. 

The winners didn't have long to celebrate, though, as they were interrupted by Toxic Attraction.

Mandy Rose claimed Shirai and KLR wouldn't be facing Jacy Jayne and Gigi Dolin for the NXT Women's Tag Team Championship at Stand & Deliver and Kay Lee Ray agreed, with her and Shirai being added to the NXT Women's Title match instead.

A brawl then broke out between Shirai, Kay Lee Ray, Cora Jade, and Toxic Attraction as NXT went off the air. 

The Women's Dusty Rhodes Tag Team Classic has only been an annual tournament since 2021. Raquel Gonzalez and Dakota Kai won the inaugural classic and they were later handed the NXT Women's Tag Team Championship. 

Share this post

Young Bucks Returning To AAA For TripleMania

Joey Janela Pokes Fun At The Undertaker's 'Level Of Grit' Comments

Aidan Gibbons

Written by Aidan Gibbons

Journalist/Editor-in-Chief of Cultaholic.com Twitter: @theaidangibbons