AEW
News

Report: Finish Of Orange Cassidy Vs. PAC Was Changed On The Fly

Also an update on Orange Cassidy

The AEW World Championship Eliminator match on AEW: Dynamite went awry last night. Orange Cassidy and PAC went one on one for the opportunity to face Kenny Omega at Double Or Nothing, but The King Of Sloth Style was motionless during the match following a Liger Bomb.

Cassidy received medical attention during the break and after the broadcast returned, Kenny Omega headed to the ring and hit PAC with the AEW World Title belt, knocking him to the mat. The referee then counted to 10 and the match ended in a double knockout, with Tony Khan later announcing both Orange and PAC would face Omega for the gold at Double Or Nothing.

Fightful Select has reported the plan was always to have Omega face both Cassidy and The Bastard at the May 30 pay-per-view, but the original finish of last night's match would have seen both men wrestle to a 20-minute draw. As Cassidy was in no condition to continue, though, the double knockout was called on the fly to ensure Orange was booked in the world title match. 

Cassidy was said to be okay following the World Title Eliminator and PWInsider noted he was spotted socialising with multiple talents after Dynamite.  

Share this post

Miro Wins TNT Championship On AEW: Dynamite

Kurt Angle Reveals Shaquille O'Neal Texted Him To Join AEW

Aidan Gibbons

Written by Aidan Gibbons

Journalist/Editor-in-Chief of Cultaholic.com Twitter: @theaidangibbons