Title Match Set For NJPW's August 1 Summer Struggle Show

Another title defence for Chaos

New Japan Pro-Wrestling's August 1 Summer Struggle show at Korakuen Hall will be headlined by a NEVER Openweight 6-Man Tag Team Championship match.

NJPW announced today that Chaos' YOSHI-HASHI, Tomohiro Ishii and Hirooki Goto will defend the title belts against Suzuki-gun's Minoru Suzuki, Zack Sabre Jr. and Taichi. 

The match came about following yesterday's Wrestle Grand Slam in Tokyo Dome event. Dangerous Tekkers regained the IWGP Heavyweight Tag Team Title from Los Ingobernables de Japon's Tetsuya Naito and SANADA during the show. Naito and SANADA would immediately challenge ZSJ and Taichi to a rematch but they were interrupted by YOSHI-HASHI and Hirooki Goto, who threw their names into the hat. 

A three-way title match has since been set for night two of Wrestle Grand Slam in MetLife Dome on September 5, but a NEVER Openweight 6-Man Tag Team Championship match has been booked for August 1 to sweeten the deal.

Also set for the August 1 Summer Struggle show are Yota Tsuji and Yuya Uemura's farewell matches as young lions before they head out on excursion. Tsuji will face Tetsuya Naito, while Uemura will clash with Kazuchika Okada. 

Check out the full card below:
• Kazuchika Okada vs. Yuya Uemura 
• Tetsuya Naito vs. Yota Tsuji
• Roppongi 3K & Toru Yano vs. El Phantasmo, Taiji Ishimori & Chase Owens
• Shingo Takagi, SANADA & BUSHI vs. EVIL, Dick Togo & Yujiro Takahashi
• YOSHI-HASHI, Tomohiro Ishii & Hirooki Goto (c) vs. Minoru Suzuki & Dangerous Tekkers - NEVER Openweight 6-Man Tag Team Championship 

Share this post

First Two IMPACT Homecoming Mixed Tag Teams Revealed

Kenny Omega Wants AEW Rampage To Spotlight Women's Wrestling

Aidan Gibbons

Written by Aidan Gibbons

Journalist/Editor-in-Chief of Cultaholic.com Twitter: @theaidangibbons