CM Punk Wins AEW World Title At AEW Double Or Nothing

CM Punk is AEW World Champion!

CM Punk is the new AEW World Champion, defeating "Hangman" Adam Page in the main event of AEW Double or Nothing in Las Vegas.

Late in the match, with referee Paul Turner knocked out, Page threatened to smash Punk with the title belt. After contemplating it, he threw the belt down, and tried for the Buckshot Lariat. Punk avoided the lariat, and a series of reversals led to Punk hitting the Go To Sleep for the win.

The win gives Punk his first world title, and his first championship of any sort since losing the WWE title to The Rock at the 2013 Royal Rumble.

For his career, Punk is now a seven-time world champion. He is a former two-time WWE Champion, three-time World Heavyweight Champion, and one-time ROH World Champion. Punk was also champion of the ECW brand in 2007-08.

Page's reign as AEW World Heavyweight Champion ends after 197 days. He won the title from Kenny Omega at Full Gear on November 13 in Minneapolis.

In his reign as champion, Page made five successful defenses, in addition to going to a time limit draw with Bryan Danielson in December at Winter is Coming.

Share this post

Dr. Britt Baker Wins Women's Owen Hart Cup Tournament At AEW Double Or Nothing

AEW Double Or Nothing 2022 Results

Justin Henry

Written by Justin Henry

In addition to writing lists and commentaries for Cultaholic, Justin is also a features writer and interviewer for Fighting Spirit Magazine, and is co-author of the WWE-related book Titan Screwed: Lost Smiles, Stunners, and Screwjobs.