Two More WWE NXT Superstars Get Name Changes

Who now?

Earlier this week, reports emerged that several NXT talents underwent name changes, with cult favorite Eric Bugenhagen becoming Rik Bugez, former multi-time IMPACT Wrestling X Division champion Trevor Lee being rechristened Cameron Grimes, and former 3CW Champion Luke Menzies becoming Ridge Holland.

Two more familiar faces have taken on new handles, as of NXT's Thursday night live event in Largo, FL.

DJ Z, a two-time X Division champion with IMPACT Wrestling that also wrestled as Zema Ion across a seven-year run with the company, is now known as Joaquin Wilde.

Wilde, after officially departing from IMPACT at the very end of 2018, reported to the Performance Center last month, and wrestled his debut match Thursday night, defeating Kona Reeves.

Shane Strickland, holder of top belts in places like EVOLVE, Combat Zone Wrestling, and Major League Wrestling, had previously wrestled several untelevised NXT matches under his usual name.

On Thursday, however, he began working under the name of Isaiah Scott, teaming with Brennan Williams to defeat Brendan Vink and Jermaine Haley

Share this post

Updated Estimate On AEW Double Or Nothing Total Buys

Former WWE Superstar Returns To IMPACT Wrestling (SPOILERS)

Justin Henry

Written by Justin Henry

In addition to writing lists and commentaries for Cultaholic, Justin is also a features writer and interviewer for Fighting Spirit Magazine, and is co-author of the WWE-related book Titan Screwed: Lost Smiles, Stunners, and Screwjobs.