Finals Set For NJPW G1 Climax 30

Who's taking it?

The final match has been set for this year's NJPW Climax, following an eventful final match in the B Block.

The tournament final will pit A Block winner Kota Ibushi against B Block victor SANADA.

SANADA defeated EVIL in the B Block final on Saturday to advance to the overall tournament final. The match featured interference from Bullet Club ally Dick Togo, who took out the referee, and beat up SANADA. Hiromu Takahashi had been doing commentary at ringside, and hit the ring to even the odds.

The finish came following further involvement from Togo and Takahashi. SANADA sent EVIL careening into Togo on the apron, and then rolled him back into a bridging pin to score the victory.

Ibushi earned his way into the tournament final on Friday after defeating Taichi, and then getting an assist from Tomohiro Ishii, who defeated Jay White in the last A block match.

Ibushi won last year's G1 Climax, defeating White in the final.

This is Sanada's fifth straight year participating in the G1 Climax. It is the first time he has ever reached the final.

Share this post

Firefly Funhouse Segment Scheduled For WWE Raw

The Young Bucks Reveal They're Saving Blood And Guts For Full Return Of Fans

Justin Henry

Written by Justin Henry

In addition to writing lists and commentaries for Cultaholic, Justin is also a features writer and interviewer for Fighting Spirit Magazine, and is co-author of the WWE-related book Titan Screwed: Lost Smiles, Stunners, and Screwjobs.