Jim Ross, Trish Stratus, Mike Rotunda Announced For Tragos/Thesz Hall Of Fame

As part of the 2022 class

Jim Ross, Mike Rotunda, and Trish Stratus have all been named as honorees for the George Tragos/Lou Thesz Professional Wrestling Hall of Fame class of 2022, according to Greg Oliver of SLAM Wrestling.

Stratus was technically honored as part of the 2021 class, but was unable to attend the ceremony, due to travel restrictions. She was honored with the Lou Thesz Award, which, "...recognizes those in the professional wrestling industry who have used their skills in the realm of public service." Previous honorees have included Booker T, Edge, Magnum TA, Brian Blair, and others.

Ross will receive the Gordon Solie Award for excellence in wrestling broadcasting. The award was new for 2021, with name Solie receiving the inaugural award.

Rotunda is an inductee into the actual Hall, which commemorates those with strong amateur wrestling backgrounds that have transitioned notably into pro wrestling. A mat standout at Syracuse University, Rotunda held gold in WWE, WCW, and numerous territories, sometimes wrestling as reviled tax man Irwin R. Schyster.

The ceremony will be held between July 21-23, 2022 in Waterloo, IA, the birthplace of the National Wrestling Alliance.

No ceremony was held in 2020, due to the pandemic. In addition to Stratus, the 2021 honorees included Solie, Adnan Al-Kaissie, Earl Wampler, Don Kernodle, Mark Henry, Ken Shamrock, and historian Mark James.

Share this post

Malakai Black Vs. Dustin Rhodes Announced For 9/8 AEW Dynamite

Olympic Gold Medalist Gable Steveson Signs With WWE

Justin Henry

Written by Justin Henry

In addition to writing lists and commentaries for Cultaholic, Justin is also a features writer and interviewer for Fighting Spirit Magazine, and is co-author of the WWE-related book Titan Screwed: Lost Smiles, Stunners, and Screwjobs.