Kazuchika Okada Vs. Tetsuya Naito At NJPW Wrestle Kingdom 14 Wins Tokyo Sports Match Of The Year 2020

Okada's seventh Match Of The Year Award in a row...

Tokyo Sports recently announced their 2020 pro wrestling award winners and Kazuchika Okada vs. Tetsuya Naito for the IWGP Heavyweight & IWGP Intercontinental Double Championship at Wrestle Kingdom 14 was named Match Of The Year. The bout narrowly beat out Go Shiozaki vs. Kazuyuki Fujita for the GHC Heavyweight Title from the Pro Wrestling NOAH 20th Anniversary Show on March 29. 

This is the seventh consecutive year that Okada has won the award, and the eighth time overall. His match with SANADA at King Of Pro-Wrestling was named the 2019 Match Of The Year. 

The 2020 MVP Award went to Tetsuya Naito. The Ingobernable One has held the Double Championship for much of 2020 across two reigns. His stablemate Hiromu Takahashi won the Fighting Spirit Award. No Rookie Of The Year Award was given out this year.

Check out the full list of winners below: 
Match Of The Year: Kazuchika Okada vs. Tetsuya Naito at NJPW Wrestle Kingdom 14
MVP Award: Tetsuya Naito (NJPW)
• Outstanding Performer Of The Year: Go Shiozaki (Pro Wrestling NOAH)
• Technique Award: Tetsuya Endo (DDT)
• Women's Wrestling Grand Prize: Giulia (Stardom)
Tag Team Of The Year: Takashi Sugiura & Kazushi Sakuraba (Pro Wrestling NOAH)
Fighting Spirit Award: Hiromu Takahashi (NJPW)

Share this post

Kevin Owens Pitched Forming A WWE Tag Team With AJ Styles, Mustafa Ali & Apollo Crews

Report: Update On WWE's Taping Schedule For The Holidays

Aidan Gibbons

Written by Aidan Gibbons

Journalist/Editor-in-Chief of Cultaholic.com Twitter: @theaidangibbons