New Japan Cup 2021 Lineup Revealed

The winner will challenge for the IWGP World Heavyweight Title at Sakura Genesis

New Japan Pro-Wrestling revealed the full New Japan Cup 2021 lineup earlier today. 30 wrestlers will compete in the single-elimination tournament and the winner will challenge for the newly unified IWGP World Heavyweight Championship at Sakura Genesis on April 4.

The tournament is scheduled to begin at March 4's 49th Anniversary Show and the final will be held on March 21. New Japan Cup 2020 winner EVIL and NEVER Openweight Champion Hiroshi Tanahashi will both receive first-round byes. EVIL will face the winner of Satoshi Kojima vs. Jeff Cobb in the second round while Tanahashi will face the winner of Jay White vs. Toa Henare. 

Check out the first round matches below: 

March 4:
• Satoshi Kojima vs. Jeff Cobb - Winner will face EVIL in the second round
• Tetsuya Naito vs. Great-O-Khan

March 5:
• Toru Yano vs. Bad Luck Fale
• Hirooki Goto vs. Taichi

March 6: 
• Kazuchika Okada vs. Shingo Takagi
• Minoru Suzuki vs. Tomoaki Honma
• KENTA vs. Juice Robinson

March 7:
• Hiroyoshi Tenzan vs. Will Ospreay
• Zack Sabre Jr. vs. Gabriel Kidd

March 9:
• Yuji Nagata vs. Yota Tsuji
• Tomohiro Ishii vs. SANADA

March 10:
• David Finlay vs. Chase Owens
• YOSHI-HASHI vs. Yujiro Takahashi
• Jay White vs. Toa Henare - Winner will face Hiroshi Tanahashi in the second round 

Share this post

Card For NJPW 49th Anniversary Show Revealed

Paul Robinson Issues Statement On Speaking Out Allegations

Aidan Gibbons

Written by Aidan Gibbons

Journalist/Editor-in-Chief of Cultaholic.com Twitter: @theaidangibbons