QUIZ: Every IWGP Intercontinental Champion

Name every IWGP Intercontinental Champion

With the first champion being crowned in 2011, the IWGP Intercontinental Championship initially began as a mid-card belt within New Japan Pro-Wrestling but was soon established as the promotion's second title, only beneath the IWGP Heavyweight Championship. 

The IWGP Intercontinental Title was held by several of pro wrestling's top stars until it was retired in March 2021 when it was unified with the IWGP Heavyweight Championship by Kota Ibushi to create the IWGP World Heavyweight Title. 

NJPW considered bringing back the IWGP Intercontinental Title in 2023 but ultimately decided to create the new IWGP Global Heavyweight Championship instead, albeit with the IC Title's iconic gold plating and white strap.

Can you name every IWGP Intercontinental Champion? 

Share this post

Assassin's Creed Congratulates Will Ospreay Following NJPW Wrestle Kingdom Entrance

Matt Riddle Abandons 'Goofball' Gimmick Following WWE Release

Aidan Gibbons

Written by Aidan Gibbons

Editor-in-Chief of Cultaholic.com Twitter: @theaidangibbons