Title Change At NJPW Wrestle Grand Slam In MetLife Dome

Not much change inside the MetLife Dome

New Japan Pro-Wrestling largely maintained the status quo at Wrestle Grand Slam in MetLife Dome and only one title changed hands across both shows on September 4 and September 5.

Five championships were on the line in total but only the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Title match saw new champions crowned as Suzuki-gun's El Desperado and Yoshinobu Kanemaru defeated El Phantasmo and Taiji Ishimori. 

The two teams have faced off three times already this year in major matches and Suzuki-gun picked up their third win over ELP and Ishimori in 2021 after Phantasmo's boot came back to haunt him. 

Both teams fought back and forth during the 20-minute contest and Desperado gained the upper hand down the stretch after he hit ELP with the Bullet Club man's loaded boot. Despe then finished Phantasmo off with the Pinche Loco for the victory. 

With the win, El Desperado and Yoshinobu Kanemaru are now four-time IWGP Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Champions, with three of those reigns having begun in the last year. 

Outside of title changes, the KOPW 2021 Trophy also changed hands as Toru Yano defeated Chase Owens in a 28-minute No DQ/I Quit Match. 

Check out the full results from Wrestle Grand Slam in MetLife Dome below:

September 4:

  • Saya Kamitani & Momo Watanabe def. Lady C & Maika - Stardom Pre-Show Match
  • Robbie Eagles & Tiger Mask def. BUSHI & Hiromu Takahashi
  • SHO def. YOH
  • Toru Yano def. Chase Owens - No DQ/I Quit Match for the KOPW 2021 Trophy
  • Jeff Cobb def. Kazuchika Okada 
  • Hiroshi Tanahashi def. Kota Ibushi - IWGP United States Heavyweight Championship

September 5:

  • Giulia & Syuri def. Momo Watanabe & Saya Kamitani - Stardom Pre-Show Match
  • Jeff Cobb & Great-O-Khan def. Tomohiro Ishii & Kazuchika Okada 
  • El Desperado & Yoshinobu Kanemaru def. El Phantasmo & Taiji Ishimori - IWGP Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Championship
  • Dangerous Tekkers def. YOSHI-HASHI & Hirooki Goto and Tetsuya Naito & SANADA - IWGP Heavyweight Tag Team Championship
  • Robbie Eagles def. Hiromu Takahashi - IWGP Junior Heavyweight Championship
  • Shingo Takagi def. EVIL - IWGP World Heavyweight Championship 

Share this post

Jon Moxley Wins GCW Championship, Is Confronted By Nick Gage

NJPW G1 Climax 31 Entrants Revealed

Aidan Gibbons

Written by Aidan Gibbons

Editor-in-Chief of Cultaholic.com Twitter: @theaidangibbons