WWE Confirm Participants In The 2021 NXT Breakout Tournament

The tournament begins next week

WWE have confirmed the eight participants in the 2021 NXT Breakout Tournament. 

The field was introduced to the WWE Universe at NXT The Great American Bash on Tuesday, with the eight competitors standing in front of the fans in attendance at the Capitol Wrestling Center.

The eight man who will feature in the tournament are: 

Carmelo Hayes - Formerly known as Christian Casanova, Hayes has been featured on NXT in recent weeks having faced Kushida on June 1 and Adam Cole on June 22. 

Trey Baxter - Formerly known as Blake Christian, Baxter took on Kushida on the June 15 episode of NXT.

Joe Gacy - Formerly of Combat Zone Wrestling, Gacy defeated Desmond Troy on last week's WWE 205 Live to qualify for the tournament.

Odyssey Jones - Formerly known as Omari Palmer, Jones has worked a number of NXT dark matches and wrestled Robert Roode in a dark match ahead of the July 2 episode of WWE SmackDown.

Andre Chase - Formerly known as Harlem Bravado, Chase won against Guru Raaj on the July 2 episode of 205 Live to qualify for the tournament.

Ikemen Jiro - Formerly of Wrestle-1, Jiro signed with WWE in December and has featured regularly on 205 Live since making his debut in May.

Josh Briggs - A former EVOLVE Champion, Briggs has been training at the WWE Performance Center since October and will make his 205 Live debut on Friday.

Duke Hudson - Formerly known as Brendan Vink, he signed with WWE in 2019 and has featured on NXT live events. He last wrestled on WWE Raw in a tag-team match in May 2020.

The first match of the 2021 Breakout Tournament will feature on the July 13 NXT and will put Ikemen Jiro against Duke Hudson.

Share this post

AEW's Cody Rhodes on WWE Using The Great American Bash: "I Will Never Be Bitter About Dusty's Legacy Being Honoured"

New NWA National Champion Crowned

Mitch Waddon

Written by Mitch Waddon

Editor In Chief at Cultaholic.com