WWE NXT Announces Superstars In New "Breakout Tournament"

William Regal made the announcement at the latest TV tapings...

The most recent set of NXT TV tapings saw the announcement of the NXT Breakout Tournament - an eight-man affair that will see NXT Superstars who have yet to make their television debuts compete in knockout competition.

The winner will get a shot at the NXT Champion of their choosing.

NXT General Manager William Regal announced the tournament's inception, with the following eight names making up the field: Angel Garza (Garza Jr.), Joaquin Wilde (DJZ), Cameron Grimes (Trevor Lee), Isiah "Swerve" Scott (Shane Strickland), Boa, Jordan Myles (ACH), Dexter Lumis (Samuel Shaw) and Bronson Reed (Jonah Rock).

While the first round matches are already in the can, they will start to air on the WWE Network weekly NXT show from June 26 - with Regal's announcement airing before that.

The first round matches are as follows:

  • Jordan Myles vs. Boa

  • Isaiah Scott vs. Cameron Grimes

  • Bronson Reed vs. Dexter Lumis

  • Angel Garza vs. Joaquin Wilde

It hasn't been confirmed when the tournament will conclude, but there's a chance it could end during SummerSlam weekend at NXT Takeover: Toronto.

The full brackets for the tournament can be seen below.

Share this post

Report: Shane McMahon Could Defeat Kofi Kingston To Become WWE Champion

Reason Chris Jericho Didn't Use Fozzy's 'Judas' At NJPW Dominion 2019 Revealed

Ross Tweddell

Written by Ross Tweddell

Presenter over on the Cultaholic Wrestling YouTube channel. Email: [email protected]